Mirrors by Caspian Hedberg

I looked into your face
And saw it transforming slowly and grotesquely into my own,
The skin was drying up and peeling off like a snake shedding its skin,
Revealing behind it a sickly imitation of myself,
I felt nauseous with disgust at this noxious mirror,
All smiling and hopefully looking for approval.
I tried to ignore it and carry on our conversation as before,
But whatever I said or asked was answered with comparisons to me.
Oh that’s kinda like the way you are, yes your right about that,
I think you’re cool,
And I knew it wasn’t you speaking,
But me.

Caspian Hedberg is a young poet living in Dublin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Caspian Hedberg, Poetry

Leave a Reply

